Home » Paint » Ta-Da! Canvas Art Done

Ta-Da! Canvas Art Done

I went with my gut and painted the canvas grey and navy blue.  What do you think?

I used a light grey latex paint that I already owned (see here) – it’s Olympic in Flagstone and a  navy blue Craft Apple acrylic paint from Michaels in Royal Navy.  I didn’t use Kristen’s blue because we weren’t going to go to Lowes  just for a paint sample.  I used about 1.5 bottles of the craft paint, and a barely noticeable amount of the grey.  (Now that the canvas is completely dry, I can see some spots that need a touch-up, especially where I used the navy.)

I’m still considering pulling one or two of the brighter colors out of the frames next to the canvas and repainting some of the grey blocks.  Perhaps two dark teal blocks? Or what about a nice golden yellow to match with the desk chair / bar stool?  I think I’m going to leave it as is for now, and perhaps I’ll reconsider next month.

Here’s the view from the entryway:

I followed Modern Midwestern Home’s instructions.  I found the center of the canvas, marked a spot 1/2″ to the left of that, and taped a line down the canvas. You need the half inch because you’ll have an off-center line if you just tape down the center line.  Then I found the 1′ and 3′ marks (the middle line of each half) and used the same method to tape my center line.  I used 1″ painters tape.

(Side note: Notice the baby gate to the left of the first picture?  Penelope’s idea of fun was to pounce on the tape lines….)

To make the chevrons, I marked a horizontal line on the tape every 6″ and along the outside edge of the canvas.  Then I connected the horizontal lines at an angle. I chose to use the bottom of the tape as my edge.  This won’t make a lot of sense until you start taping, but you you have to be consistent with which edge of the tape you connect the lines with.  (I actually didn’t follow my own advice at first, so I ended up redoing some of my tape. Ugh.)

Close-up of the tape lines:

And because we all want to know how much it’s going to cost, here’s the cost breakdown:

  • 24 x 36 Canvas – about $26 (with 40% off coupon at Michaels)
  • 2 bottles of Royal Navy craft paint –  about $2 (with 15% off coupon at Michaels)
  • 1″ blue Painters Tape – about $3 (I used about half)
  • Grey Paint – $0 (already owned)
  • Paint Brushes – $0 (already owned)
  • Total: $31 (approximately)

I don’t think that’s too shabby for a giant piece of art.  I also love that I can totally change it when I get bored.  Just some primer and some new paint or a nice big piece of fabric will do the trick.  Yay for decorating ADD!

One last look:

What would I do differently?  I would probably use a better painters tape or at least paint the canvas in white and then paint over my tape with white to seal the edges.  I definitely had some bleeding under the tape and I’m trying to decide how to fix it. It’s not too noticeable from afar, but this picture is right above my desk people, so I stare at it ALL DAY LONG!  Oh and did I mention I can be a little bit of a perfectionist?  I might also switch to all craft paint.  There was less paint seepage with the navy and it would be fun to do a few more colors.

Have you made any DIY art recently?

PS. I’m linking here:


11 thoughts on “Ta-Da! Canvas Art Done

  1. This looks awesome! I love that you took the creative license to change it up a bit with the missing sections, it definitely adds interest! Glad I could provide some inspiration for you, and thank you for the mention in your post :) Happy decorating, Charlotte

  2. Pingback: September in Review | Our Next Great Adventure

What do you think? {I read & love every comment!}

